In this article, you’ll learn how to leave a text group, mute text group notifications, and permanently delete a text group.
How Do I Remove a Text Group?
Text groups are groups of three or more people who exchange text messages. You or someone else can start a texting group, and it’s up to you. If you no longer want to participate in a text group, you can delete the text group to unsubscribe. To accomplish this, follow these steps:
- After selecting your profile picture from the list of conversations, you can choose to leave the conversation by tapping the Leave this Conversation button.
- Leave this Conversation can be accessed by tapping the I icon at the top of a message thread and then selecting the option.
The group text will no longer send you notifications once you’ve left the conversation unless someone in the group is using an Android device at the time. When a member of the group sends a message, the text group will be reactivated.
If this is the case, you may want to turn off the group’s notifications. As a result, you can tap the profile icons or an I icon that appears on top of your message thread to access your profile. (This is dependent on the iOS version you’re using.) Turn on hiding Alerts and you’re done! (the button is green when On and grey when Off). Alerts for messages in this group have been disabled.
What You Should Be Aware Of
- Delete the group message by swiping it to the left and tapping Delete.
- Leave a conversation by tapping the profile icon or the I icon at the top, then tapping Leave this Conversation to confirm your exit.
- Delete the conversation if no one in your group uses Android, but it will reappear the next time a message is received.
On the iPhone, how do I delete recent text groups?
You can also remove text groups from your iPhone using this method. Swipe the group message to the left and tap Delete to remove it from your text list. However, the group will still be accessible to other members if this method is used.
As a result, you’ll be removed from the group’s current conversation. When the next message is sent, you’ll be brought back into the conversation if there is an Android user in the group. The group notifications can be silenced by following the steps outlined above.
You’ll also be notified if the people in the deleted group start a new text thread and include you in it. To stop receiving them, you’ll have to repeat the process.
How Do You Delete a Group Chat Permanently?
Swipe left and tap Delete to remove all of the messages from a group chat conversation for good. Keep in mind that once you’ve deleted a chat, you won’t be able to retrieve any images or videos that were shared in it.
My iPhone doesn’t allow me to create text groups.
After opening Messages and tapping Compose > Add (Plus icon) > and searching for contacts to include in the group text, you can start a group text. Press the Send button after you’ve finished writing your message.
On my iPhone, how do I name text groups?
You can rename a text group on an iPhone by opening the conversation, tapping the icons at the top, and selecting Change Name and Photo from the menu that pops up. Then enter a new name, assign each participant a new photo, then select Done when you’re done. Because not everyone in the text group uses an Apple device, you may not be able to change your name.
On Android, how do I get rid of text message groups?
Remove yourself from an Android group text by asking another user. To stop receiving notifications, you can mute or delete the conversation. To turn off notifications, tap the Notifications bell on the top-right corner of the conversation and select Silence or Delete from the menu that appears.